RATATOUILLE – DELICIOUS!

Ratatouille (1)

I MAKE MY RATATOUILLE IN THE CROCK POT TO CUT DOWN ON HEATING UP THE COTTAGE IN THE SUMMER.

1 small eggplant, peeled and diced (I don’t peel mine)
2 small zucchini, diced
1 yellow squash, diced
1 onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 green pepper, seeded and diced
1 yellow pepper, seeded and diced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced (I used Anaheim pepper – a bit milder)
1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes
1 pound hot sausage
1 (6oz) can tomato paste to thicken
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp fresh basil
1 Tbsp fresh parsley
Salt and pepper to taste if needed

Cut up all the veggies and place in Crock Pot.  Place sausage on top and pour diced tomatoes over everything.  Cook on LOW 6-8 hours (I like cooking less for crisper veggies). In the last hour of cooking remove sausage links and cut up*. Add tomato paste, sugar and spices – mix well and then return sausage to the Pot.

*If you use sausage patties you can just break them up and you won’t need to cut anything up later but my sausage links were frozen so I cooked them and then cut them up.

YOU CAN MAKE THIS MEAL VEGETARIAN BY ELIMINATING THE SAUSAGE. I LOVE TO SERVE IT OVER NOODLES (I USED WHOLE WHEAT THIN SPAGHETTI) BUT IF YOU WANT A GLUTEN FREE VERSION TRY OVER QUINOA OR EVEN SPAGHETTI SQUASH.

I ADDED SHREDDED ITALIAN STYLE CHEESE, PARMESAN CHEESE AND A FEW FRESH BASIL AND PARSLEY LEAVES AS A GARNISH. OF COURSE, I SERVED THIS MEAL WITH A BIG SALAD (WITH LETTUCE AND SPINACH FRESH OUT OF THE GARDEN TOO – CAN’T WAIT FOR THE REST OF THE VEGGIES TO RIPEN)!

THIS MEAL IS SO GOOD YOU COULD GET “THANKSGIVING FULL” ON IT!  I ADVISE HAVING THE SALAD FIRST SO YOU DON’T OVERDO ON THE RATATOUILLE!

 

Leave a Reply

