CANTALOUPE SALSA

Cantaloupe Salsa (2)

 

1 cantaloupe, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced and seeded
1/2 red onion, diced
1 c frozen corn, thawed
2 Tbsp lime juice
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

Toss all together in a large bowl and chill for several hours. Stir before serving with tortilla scoops and possibly some sour cream (low fat if desired) to douse the fire!

THIS APPETIZER WAS A BIG HIT!  EVEN THOUGH I THOUGHT THE CANTALOUPE WAS A BIT HARD THIS TIME OF YEAR IT WAS SWEET AND TASTY AND DIDN’T GET TOO LIQUIDY LIKE WHEN I MAKE THE SALSA IN SUMMER WITH RIPE, RIPE MELON.

I HAVE ALSO MADE THIS WITH HALF CANTALOUPE AND HALF HONEY DEW WITH RED PEPPER. I CAN IMAGINE THIS WITH BLACK BEANS AND A LITTLE CUMIN AS WELL!

2 thoughts on “CANTALOUPE SALSA

    • Thanks Ted! This did turn out tasty – any time my cantaloupe starts to feel a bit soft, I know it’s time for salsa. I’ve also made salsa with watermelon and honeydew! Put hot peppers in the garden this year so I’ll always have some on hand! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

