SECRET MEATBALL RECIPE

MEATBALLS

MUST TRY!  ONE OF THE WAYS I’M FIGHTING HIGH CHOLESTEROL!  Here is my really great recipe for super protein, low fat meatballs (I also make into burgers to cook on the grill)!

1# 96% lean ground beef
1 (15oz) can lentil beans – drained just a bit
1 envelope onion soup mix (I use Lipton or Great Value)
1 tsp instant beef bouillon and seasoning (herb ox)
2-3 Tbsp minced garlic cloves
1/2 cup quinoa prepared according to directions
3 eggs (or egg substitute equivalent to 3 eggs)
1 tsp Italian seasoning

Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and let sit in refrigerator for about an hour (the quinoa will absorb extra liquid and make for more solid burgers and meatballs that hold together).  Fashion into 2 good sized burgers (to freeze for later grilling) and 20 large meatballs.

Bake meatballs at 375 degrees 20-25 minutes until browned and firm.  I usually freeze and add to my homemade sauce as needed!

**Sometimes I add a tsp of cumin or chili powder to spice them up, or if I’m thinking of beef stroganoff with Swedish meatballs, I add a tsp of ground all spice!

ENJOY AND BE HEALTHY!

Leave a Reply

