SEPTEMBER IS FOOD SAFETY MONTH

TRY THIS QUIZ TO SEE HOW MUCH YOU KNOW ABOUT FOOD SAFETY!
Don’t let the pictures influence your choices!

1. Which of the following foods are most likely to grow microorganisms?

a. Moist food
b. Dry food
c. Salty food

2. Salmonella is least likely to occur in which food?

MICROBES 3

a. Chicken salad
b. Cantaloupe
c. Cocoa powder
d. Tomatoes

3. Store meat, poultry, and fish at:

a. Temperatures below 32° F
b. Temperatures below 41° F
c. Temperatures below 45° F

MICROBES 4

4. Cook poultry to a minimum internal temperature of:

a. 145° F
b. 165° F
c. 185° F

5. Brewed tea can spoil if left at room temperature for more than a few hours.

MICROBES 6

a. True
b. False

6. Never thaw food under running water.

a. True
b. False

7. Listeriosis is especially dangerous for pregnant women. Which of the following foods is most likely to cause listeriosis?

MICROBES 7

a. Strawberries
b. Eggs
c. Deli foods

8. Honey or syrup that has developed yeast is most likely to:

MICROBES 5

a. Appear pink
b. Display a blue-green, fuzzy growth
c. Become concave and sunken in the center of the container

Answers

1.   a. Moist food
2.   c. Cocoa powder
3.   b. Temperatures below 41º F
4.   b. 165º F
5.   a. True
6.   b. False (as long as the water is 70° F or lower)
7.   c. Deli foods
8.   a. Appear pink

8 thoughts on “SEPTEMBER IS FOOD SAFETY MONTH

    • Honestly, I have never even been on Yahoo News so I have no idea. Spending lots of money on google ads to increase website traffic – little success so far! Go figure!

  1. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be really something which I feel I would never understand.

    It kind of feels too complex and very extensive for me.
    I’m taking a look forward in your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the cling of
    it!

    • Well, that does sound very annoying. I have contacted WordPress support to see if they can figure out the problem. Meantime, you should be able to open one of the emails and there should be a place to “unsubscribe” or, if you are also on WordPress you can go to “blogs I follow” and edit there so you will not receive an email for each new post. I do apologize and wish I could fix the problem so as not to lose your following! Thank you for alerting me to the problem…

Leave a comment