MY YOGA POSES: WET DOG, OLD CROW AND THE PLUNGE!!

I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND BEGINNER POSES BEFORE MOVING ONWARD AND UPWARD – I’M PRETTY FIT AND SOME OF THESE INTERMEDIATE AND ADVANCED POSES I’M FINDING TOTALLY IMPOSSIBLE!  I’M CALLING MY YOGA POSES WET DOG, THE OLD CROW AND THE PLUNGE!!  BUT THESE CAN BE MASTERED – WORK AT IT GRADUALLY!

Downward Dog: Beginner

YOU CAN DO YOGA 1

  • Start on all fours with hands directly under shoulders, knees under hips.
  • Walk hands a few inches forward and spread fingers wide, pressing palms into mat.
  • Curl toes under and slowly press hips toward ceiling, bringing your body into an inverted V, pressing shoulders away from ears. Feet should be hip-width apart, knees slightly bent.
  • Hold for 3 full breaths.

Downward Dog: Intermediate

YOU CAN DO YOGA 2

  • Start in beginner position.
  • Straighten your legs and press your heels toward the floor while raising your hips upward.
  • Hold for 5 to 10 breaths, then lift one leg toward the ceiling and hold for 3 full breaths; keep hips level.
  • Lower; switch legs and repeat.

Downward Dog: Advanced

YOU CAN DO YOGA 3

  • Start in beginner position. Straighten your legs and press your heels toward the floor while raising your hips upward.
  • Walk your feet together and lift one leg toward the ceiling.
  • Press your palms and other heel into the mat. Once stable, slowly lift your opposite hand and hold for 3 full breaths.
  • Lower; switch sides and repeat.

The Crow: Beginner

YOU CAN DO YOGA 4

Get into downward dog position (palms pressed into mat, feet hip-width apart) and walk feet forward until knees touch your arms.

Bend your elbows, lift heels off floor, and rest knees against the outside of your upper arms. Keep toes on floor, abs engaged and legs pressed against arms. Hold for 5 to 10 breaths.

The Crow: Intermediate

YOU CAN DO YOGA 5

  • From beginner position, squeeze your inner thighs to lift heels off floor.
  • With fingers spread wide, slowly move body forward until your weight is balanced over your hands.
  • Draw abs inward (as if pulling belly button to spine) to lift your hips up higher, keeping your face forward. Hold for 5 to 10 breaths.

The Crow: Advanced

YOU CAN DO YOGA 6

  • Start in the beginner position and slowly move into the intermediate pose.
  • As your upper body tilts forward, begin lifting your right leg toward the ceiling.
  • Squeeze your glutes, spread out your toes, and hold for 5 to 10 breaths.
  • Lower; switch legs and repeat.

The Lunge: Beginner

YOU CAN DO YOGA 1

  • Start in downward dog position. Step your right leg forward to the inside of your right hand.
  • Drop your left knee to the floor and lift your chest up. Keeping your right knee in line with your ankle and your back straight, place hands on your knee. Hold for 10 breaths.

The Lunge: Intermediate

YOU CAN DO YOGA 7

  • From beginner pose, press into the ball of your back foot and lift into a standing lunge.
  • Straighten back leg, place heel down on floor, and turn foot out a few inches. Lift arms toward ceiling (Warrior I). Spread your fingers, turn palms in, and open up chest. Hold for 10 breaths.
  • Switch legs; repeat.

The Lunge: Advanced

YOU CAN DO YOGA 8

  • From lunge position, hinge your upper body forward from the hips and slowly lift your back leg while straightening your front leg.
  • Stop when your back is flat and your entire body is parallel to the floor (Warrior III). Balance here for 10 breaths.
  • Lower; switch legs and repeat.

ARE YOU FEELING THE LOVE?

96 thoughts on “MY YOGA POSES: WET DOG, OLD CROW AND THE PLUNGE!!

  1. It’s actually a great and useful piece of info.
    I’m happy that you simply shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for
    sharing.

  2. Excellent pieces. Keep posting such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You have performed an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and in my view recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

  3. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Thanks

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox.
    Superb Blog!

  5. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great.
    I really like what you have acquired here, certainly
    like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still take
    care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a tremendous web site.

  6. I’m more than happy to find this site. I want to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely savored every little bit of it and i
    also have you saved to fav to check out new information in
    your web site.

  7. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if
    you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from
    your writing. Cheers!

  8. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.

    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which
    you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart.
    I can’t wait to read far more from you. This
    is actually a tremendous web site.

  9. I’ve been surfing on-line more than three hours
    lately, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material
    as you probably did, the internet can be a lot more helpful than
    ever before.

  10. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of
    this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user
    friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a very good job with
    this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me
    on Chrome. Outstanding Blog!

  11. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to
    manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but
    have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone
    with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

    • I have not written any codes on this blog. Recommend WordPress, The Missing Manual as a good resource for someone just starting out but their tutorials are also great. Good luck!

  12. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Appreciate it!

  13. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and
    I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

